ALL 5 STARS FOR THE DOLL'S HOUSE

 

5.0 out of 5 stars The Doll's House6 Sep 2013
By 
Annette (Dundalk, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
 
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
Great second book. As with first I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for next book. Louise Phillips is "up there" with the best of female crime writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking psychological thriller6 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Paperback)
After reading Louise's debut novel, Red Ribbons, I knew I had to read The Doll's House because Louise really is a fantastic writer. The Doll's House is a fantastic read which leaving you wanting more after every chapter. It's one of those books that takes you on a terrifying ride and you just don't know when or where it's going to stop. Like any good psychological thriller, it's got a serious twist which you don't see coming. Absolutely loved this book, really couldn't put it down and I cannot wait for my next installment of Louise's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


5.0 out of 5 stars A killer of a thriller31 Aug 2013
By 
 
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
The last twenty pages of The Doll's House by Louise Phillips are a killer. The conflict between longing to prolong this excellent novel, and the desperation of finding out what was to happen and why, is agonising. The characters became a part of my life for days and I know that I will carry their stories around with me for a long time to come.
In the opening line, Phillips prepares us for the strangeness of an ordinary life which is to become extraordinary. Our introduction to Clodagh brings the reader up close and personal with her. We admire her and want to admonish her in the same breath but the overall feeling is a wish to protect her. The first meeting with the murderer immediately brings us into his mixed up head. Phillips words are sparse and effective. Nothing is wasted.
Making the spine tingling journey through The Doll's House with criminal psychologist Dr. Kate Pearson and DI O'Connor, brought me back to their explosive contribution to this author's first book Red Ribbons.
I said that Phillip's debut novel was thrilling; promising a long line of bestselling crime writing ahead. I didn't lie. This delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tremendous Read22 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
The Doll's House is difficult to put it down. It is gripping, thrilling yet hopeful. I adore the writers narrative and how different each character is. I know how difficult that is to achieve and it makes me want to reread the book again to soak it up.

The character of Dr Kate Pearson is more developed and the use of her background to crack open a case is a touch of class.

I love how the title of the book is so elusive and yet it manages to be so apt to the plot of the book. It's slick and takes a talented writer to bring out all the nuances of the book and it's world.

Suspense is behind every word. The large cast of characters and the sly innuendos had me guessing as to the identity of the murderer. I did read this book during sunlight as it is so fleshed out that the terror of the plot and night would have been too much for me.

I enjoyed this book a lot and loved the characters. Read it and see for yourself.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!!!20 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Paperback)
Having read 'Red Ribbons', Louise Phillips debut crime novel, I was really keen to get to this, her second offering. I had it read in a couple of days. I stayed up until 2.30am finishing it!

Kate Pearson, criminal psychologist and D I O'Connor are back. The body of TV personality Keith Jenkins has turned up in the canal, stabbed and then left to drown. There's a new killer about. And soon the bodies begin to pile up. Someone has a grudge. So far, so crime novel. But it's the added layers that author Louise Phillips brings to the crime genre that raises this book above the general sea of crime thriller novels.

In conjunction with the more typical crime elements of body counts and police, we have a parallel story of the character Clodagh. Clodagh is a recovering alcoholic whose life has a thin veneer of respectability. But soon it becomes clear that she is practically estranged from her daughter and her marriage is under strain. And she has problems from her past. There is a trauma at the heart of it she is sure. She just can't remember. Huge chunks of her past are missing. In an effort to go back, to find out what happened to her as a child, she begins to visit a hypnotist, to regress. Gradually, all the elements of the novel combine to a crescendo-ed finale.

And here is the added value of a Louise Phillips novel. The author seems interested in themes and ideas, giving the book a depth that so many other novels are missing. The questions of memory, childhood - all play as much of a role in the story as the characters themselves.

I'm looking forward to her next novel. These are intelligent, thought provoking crime novels. In an over populated genre, they stand out as original, ambitious books.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


5.0 out of 5 stars a compelling psychological crime novel17 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Paperback)
In this novel we enter the fascinating arena of childhood memories and repression when one of the characters Clodagh, seeks the help of a hypnotherapist to unravel her past. Phillips is very strong on leading us, step by step, into the world of memory. Some novels build tension only to fall flat at the end, this novel doesnt, instead it builds to a riveting climax in the last chapters. An excellant psychological crime thriller with a very satisfying end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted, cracking good read.14 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
I read Red Ribbons and enjoyed the character Kate Pearson and loved the book.
With her second book, The Dolls House, Louise Phillips has once again enthralled this reader with a cast of characters, a well crafted crime novel and of course Kate and O'Connor are back in the thick of things again.
I had a doll once I got for Christmas, and her head got burnt beside the range in my grandmothers house on Christmas Day. I loved her as much as my other dolls but she always scared my sister! This book brought me back to the world of dolls and the games we played with them and the myriad of secrets we shared with them. But in Louises book, there are many secrets to tell, hidden for years, and her dolls and their house help her unravel them.....read for yourself.
Truly a great read and a story so well told, that I am already looking forward to book three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must-read!12 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
Louise Phillip's follow up novel is an excellent read. It is tense, taut and really well written.
It features Dr Kate Pearson, criminal psychologist and O'Connor from 'Red Ribbons' and I admire the way Louise has developed these two characters.
I loved the fact that the book was set in contemporary Dublin and reflected on the demise of the Celtic Tiger years and the underlying drugs problems in the capital.
Dr. Kate Pearson is an excellent modern Irish female, an intelligent, trained professional trying to raise her son as well as develop her own career. I would love to see more female characters like Kate in Irish novels.

Louise's use of the doll's house was intriguing. Dolls normally feature heavily in the early years of a female's life and our relationship with them can be peculiar. For most girls, the dolls can represent perfection and a hint of what is expected of them in the future and therefore we can have a strange relationship with them.

Louise uses the doll house and doll imagery in an excellent way and the whole hypnosis/regression story line is fascinating, especially with the constant dismissal of it by the characters in the book who deal with crime each day.
An excellent book, with really well-written characters and a tense, page-turning story line.
I would highly recommend it.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
 


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Louise Phillips strikes again.5 Aug 2013
By 
 
This review is from: The Doll's House (Kindle Edition)
Psychologist Dr Kate Pearson receives a call to say that the police have found
a middle aged male, with multiple stab wounds, drowned in the canal. She is
invited by Detective Inspector O'Connor to join him in trying to solve the case.

Clodagh is not coping well with the recent death of her mother. She has begun
to look into her past and try to find lost memories of her father who died years
ago and a tragedy that happened when she was a child that she knows she
knows something about but she cannot retrieve the finer details. She visits a
hypnotherapist and finds some of these memories returning to her.

While Kate helps the investigation, the killer has already chosen his next victim
and Kate and O'Connor have to put the pieces together along with Clodagh's lost
memories to solve the puzzle.

Another action packed crime thriller from this bestselling author. It certainly gave
me a really fascinating insight into how hypnosis can assist you in retrieving lost
memories.

I had my suspicions as to who the killer might be, but with each paragraph I read, I kept changing my mind and didn't
know for sure until the last few pages who it actually was. I was wrong too!

I love the way that Louise writes with such suspense and intrigue. There were some tense moments when I found
myself actually holding my breath not knowing what was coming next.

This book was a brilliant reading experience for me. I couldn't put it down whilst at the same time, being a little wary
about what was going to happen. It was the first crime/thriller novel I've read for a while and it's got me wanting to read
more (obviously in broad daylight!).

I really wanted to protect Clodagh and loved reading more about Kate Pearson and her life outside of work. O'Connor
is a really interesting character too and I do love a sequel so that even though a book ends the story and the
characters live on

Once again I'm sure this will be a roaring success and very much deserved for this terrific award-winning author who
should be found on the shelves between the likes of MandaSue Heller, Patricia Cornwall and James Patterson.

5.0 out of 5 stars The Doll's House - thrilling & brilliant4 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Doll's House (Paperback)

Louise's second crime novel won't disappoint her legions of fans from Red Ribbons - the criminal psychologist Dr Kate Pearson is back on board with the police when another strange killing hits Dublin, this time the canal is the familiar setting, rather than the Dublin mountains. Kate's task - to help figure out who would choose this setting, and help stop them, before it's too late. This book reaches back in time, and features some fascinating explorations on memory and how our brains can sometimes choose to protect us. Eery, thought provoking and fast paced - Louise's second book is a must have. I was rationing the last few pages out - trying to make the enjoyment last, but kept getting dragged back to it. Already counting the days to her next one!